Mon, 29 Nov 2021

Matt Turner, Cristian Arango capture MLS awards

Field Level Media
23 Nov 2021, 07:40 GMT+10

New England's Matt Turner was named the 2021 MLS Goalkeeper of the Year and Los Angeles FC forward Cristian Arango was honored as the league's Newcomer of the Year.

Turner led the Revolution to their first-ever Supporters' Shield and a new single-season record with 73 points in 34 matches (22-5-7 record).

Turner, 27, tied for the MLS lead with 17 goalkeeper wins, including five shutouts. He was also named MVP of the MLS All-Star Game after stopping two attempts in the penalty shootout against the Liga MX All-Stars.

He is the first goalkeeper in the Revolution's 26-year MLS history to win the award. Andre Blake of the Philadelphia Union finished second in the voting by MLS players, club technical staff and media.

Arango, known as "Chicho," led LAFC with 14 goals and added two assists in just 17 appearances (15 starts).

The 26-year-old Colombian, who joined the team on Aug. 2, registered a hat trick against FC Dallas on Oct. 20 and scored the fastest goal in LAFC history on Sept. 12 when he tallied 20 seconds into a game with Real Salt Lake.

Arango finished second in the league in goals per 90 minutes (0.90) behind D.C. United forward Ola Kamara (0.94).

Vancouver Whitecaps midfielder Ryan Gauld finished second in the voting by current MLS players, club technical staff and media members.

--Field Level Media

More Pennsylvania News

Access More

Sign up for Pennsylvania State News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!